All rules are as in Standard, except as follows:
1. The victory criterion is ownership of a majority of the Supply Centers
(19 out of 37).
2. Navigable Rivers/River Convoys. The rivers on the map, representing
the Indus, the Ganges/Brahmaputra/Patna/Hooghly, and the Irrawaddy are available for fleets to travel up to the interior,
and they can be used to convoy. The fleets will be on the provinces, as the rivers are not spaces themselves, but merely indicators.
If a fleet attacks a convoying fleet in a river province, the convoy is disrupted whether or not the attack is successful,
but an attacking army must dislodge the fleet for the convoy to be disrupted. *For a clarification and examples of this
rule, see below. Simplified Rule: Rivers are navigable, but cannot
be used to convoy.**
3. Additional Home Centers. If a power leaves a specific unit on a Supply
Center whether owned by that power or not) for an entire game calendar year (consecutive Spring, Fall and Winter turns), then
that Supply Center becomes a new Home Supply Center for that power. Moving a different unit onto the Supply Center in
the fall is not effective for this purpose. In that case, just as in Standard Diplomacy, the Supply Center is a Home Supply
Center for the original owner, but presently belongs to a different power. A Supply Center can only be a Home Supply Center
for one power at a time, so if power A converts power B's Home Supply Center to a Home Supply Center for power A, then power
B must recapture and reconvert the Supply Center in order for it to once more be a Home Supply Center for power B. Simplified Rule: Players may build in any vacant Supply Center they own.**
4. The starting year of the variant is 1501.
5. The adjustment phase or turn, commonly known as "Winter", may be called
*Navigable Rivers/River Convoys Clarification:
In response a a few questions, I want to clarify the rule on navigable rivers
and river convoys a bit.
1. In order for a province to be an origin or destination province for a
convoy, it must either (a) border a water province, or (b) border or contain a river. Thus, inland provinces that border
river provinces (such as Kandahar, Jaipur or Warangal) may not be an origin or destination province of a convoy.
For a fleet to move from one river province to another (or to convoy *directly* from one river province to another, as opposed
to using a chain of fleets), the two provinces must be adjacent either by coast or by river. Therefore, fleets may not move
directly between Assam and Ava, or between Agra and Lahore.
3. A convoy may contain river province and sea province
components. For example:
F Bengal-Convoys A Assam-Jaffna
F Bay of Bengal-Convoys A Assam-Jaffna
Nicobar Sea-Convoys A Assam-Jaffna
would be a valid order set.
4. A fleet in a river province may convoy *directly*
(as opposed to being part of a convoy chain) only from provinces that border it by river. For example, a fleet in Bengal
may convoy *directly* from or to Assam, Benares, Muzaffarpur, Orissa and Sambalpur. It may not convoy *directly* from or to
Pegu, which it borders by coast, but not by river.
5. An attacked fleet does not the have enhanced power to disrupt river
convoys that is otherwise available to fleets in this variant. For example:
F Benares - Sambalpur
F Sambalpur Convoys A Orissa
A Orissa - Benares
A Jabalpur Supports A Orissa - Benares
F Benares does *not* disrupt the convoy.
**The GM and players
should decide whether to use one or both of the simplified rules before beginning the game.